Panthers and the Museum of Fire

Jen Craig



'Bold, original and urgent, Panthers and the Museum of Fire is told in a modernist, stream-of-consciousness style by a narrator who is either literally the author, Jen Craig, or a projection constructed for the purposes of the text—something like James Joyce’s Stephen Dedalus in a contemporary Ulysses. Craig blurs memoir and fiction as the reader follows Jen, walking from Glebe to Surry Hills to return a manuscript to a deceased friend’s relations. On the way, Jen reflects on the text, crediting it with invigorating her sagging enthusiasm for her writing career. As she reflects, however, she also undertakes an excavation of her own psyche, her past and its implications for her future. Panthers is a complex work of fictionalised-memoir in the style of writers such as Karl Ove Knausgaard and Sheila Heti. Fans of Joyce and Virginia Woolf may also be interested, as will many writers, I think. It is an experimental novella but surprisingly easy to read, and brilliant for the very ordinariness of its subject, the everyday reflections of a very human mind throughout the progress of a day.' 
Angie Andrewes is a bookseller and reviewer


You'll get:
  • an ebook in Kindle-compatible mobi format
  • a DRM-free ePub (compatible with iPhone/iPad, Kobo, Nook, and Readmill)


  • novella Sydney_fiction Jen_Craig postmodern_fiction
    Language: English / Published: 09 February 2015

    Preview

    Read a sample of this book!

    Embed

    Embed a book preview in your own site
    Sw_logo300x200

    Spineless Wonders

    Spineless Wonders is devoted to short, quality fiction produced by Australian writers. We’re interested in brief fiction in all its forms – short story, novella, sudden fiction and prose poems. We publish all kinds of stories – contemporary realist, black comedy, steam punk, historical, literary, romance, psychological, mystery, crime, futurist, speculative and genres yet to be labelled.

    www.shortaustralianstories.com.au
    Cover
    Ite_missa_est
    9780987089779_cvr

    Report this book?