In prose that sparkles with wit, shocks with insight, and beguiles with the air of legend, these eight stories take the reader from post-apocalyptic Tasmania to the tragedy of surrogate pregnancy in the 1950s. Loss of species, the whims of publishers, the question of Islam in regional Australia - these are among the subjects Carmel Bird addresses in her characteristic probing style.

About The SPINELESS WONDERS Capsule Collection Series

This is a new platform for digital-first collections of short stories, as well as for verse novels and novellas.The first publication in the series is The Dead Aviatrix: Eight Short Stories by Carmel Bird. Forthcoming titles in the series will include those selected from submissions to The Carmel Bird Digital Literary Award.

You'll get:
  • an ebook in Kindle-compatible mobi format
  • a DRM-free ePub (compatible with iPhone/iPad, Kobo, Nook, and Readmill)

  • humour satire short stories Australian literature Carmel Bird
    Language: English / Published: 09 October 2017


    Read a sample of this book!


    Embed a book preview in your own site

    Spineless Wonders

    Spineless Wonders is devoted to short, quality fiction produced by Australian writers. We’re interested in brief fiction in all its forms – short story, novella, sudden fiction and prose poems. We publish all kinds of stories – contemporary realist, black comedy, steam punk, historical, literary, romance, psychological, mystery, crime, futurist, speculative and genres yet to be labelled.

    Report this book?